PETALS | NETVIBES |”SUCKS”

July 24, 2009 at 8:52 pm 10 comments

Last week was bizarre—heavy rains, strong winds that destroyed the 50 PhP umbrella that I just bought, uncontrolled Net surfing amidst school works, and of course, vlog-making. I tell you, it’s not easy folding clothes little by little.

BRIAN SOLIS’ PRISM –> NASH’S PETALS

The Conversation Prism

The conversation prism features the different Web avenues where conversations occur. If you will look closely, on the petals of what seems like a rainbow flower–but apparently, it’s called a prism–are the different avenues where communication occurs. For instance, there are the different blog sites or communities, the various social networking sites, the image and video hosting sites, and many more. Just by looking at those i-don’t-know-how-many applications, I realized that I still haven’t explored the Web that much–even if I have like six or so online accounts. Not that I need to try each, of course. I think this would be very helpful to me since it was labeled and classified neatly in this conversation prism.

As said in our lecture, it is important for organizations to pinpoint where (in the prism) they will engage and prioritize. To do that, they have to be able to locate where their target market resides in terms of their Net activity. Once they identified where to prioritize, that will be the time for the organization to become transparent to the consumers by listening, learning, and also sharing. Such must be an ongoing process or cycle.

Organizations must continuously engage themselves with their consumers. The consumers will, in turn, serve as the organization’s advocates and ambassadors in-and-out of the Web. Hence, whether the organization is online or not, they still are transparent and visible through their consumers.

NETVIBES

I am semi-obsessive-compulsive. No, I’m not suffering from the said anxiety disorder. Although I must add that anxiety seemed to be running in my genes. I just tend to be obsessed with order sometimes. Hence, when Sir Barry illustrated in class how Netvibe works, I made my account as soon as I got home.

It is so cool! I mean, in just one window, I can monitor all my online accounts. And in another tab, I can easily check all the juicy hollywood chikas in E!, TMZ, MTV, OMG Yahoo, OK!, and some other online magazines. Yes, those are the content of my Netvibe tabs. HAHA

BUT OF COURSE,  being the responsible and socially aware UP student and Filipino citizen that I am, I have another tab for serious news updates  like The Economist, Philippine Daily Inquirer, CNN, Times Online, and Forbes Business News.

What made me more happier actually is that Francis Kong has a website now and that it has RSS Feeds!

ONLINE REPUTATION MANAGEMENT

I was stalking  some of my favorite Hollywood celebrities in Twitter when I saw Emma Watson’s tweet about her Google-ing Emma +  needs. The results she got were  serious help, a belt rather badly, a real man, a love song, and to learn how to wear a bra.

That was when I remembered our discussion about online reputation management and decided to Google my full name. What appeared was a list of my online accounts. I was satisfied that no zero results appeared onscreen. It was a relief to know that I exist on the Web.

After which, I attached sucks, hates, and other synonymous terms to my name. What appeared, AS I EXPECTED, where people whose first name happens to be Paula but with a different surname, or whose surname was Batalla, but with a different first name. Again, I was relieved.

Picture2

Gah. I thought my surname–BATALLA–was unique. Facebook proved me wrong. I guess the challenge now is how I shall make myself more transparent than those hundreds of PAULAs or BATALLAs on the Web.

In relation to organizations, maintaining an excellent online and offline reputation is a MUST.  The reputation of an organization, or simply an individual, can be both a strength and weakness.

With all the open avenues online like forums, blogs, and other virtual communities, it is necassary that organizations not only regularly monitor their reputation in these new social media channels. They must also take part in the ongoing process of listening, sharing, and learning–bringing us back to the principles behind the Conversation Prism.

Entry filed under: Orcomversations. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

MORE. MORE. MORE. LOVE THROUGH TIME AND COMMUNICATION EVOLUTION

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. barrycade  |  July 25, 2009 at 5:13 am

    wow so you are an angel online. all good! ahahahaah. agree with you on the effort to stand out from all the paula’s in the world (paula of AI is creating much noise because of news she’ll no longer be a judge this coming new season) and even the batalla’s.

    if recruiters check your sites, will they likely to hire you for a job you want? 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Paula Bianca Batalla  |  July 25, 2009 at 12:55 pm

      Even when offline, I’m an angel. HAHA

      Yes. I saw that news on Twitter.

      I was asking myself the same question last night. I guess I better start making my online accounts private. :)) I don’t want my future employers seeing my tweets about how gaga I am over Tom Felton. HAHAHAHA

      Reply
  • 3. mydiamondring  |  July 25, 2009 at 6:04 am

    another. long. post.

    really, paula. so many words. HAHA.

    anyway, managing your online reputation might actually prove difficult for someone who has as many online lives as you. but, at the end of the day, i know it’ll come in handy.

    and congrats, your being ms.congeniality has survived even the online world.

    Reply
    • 4. Paula Bianca Batalla  |  July 25, 2009 at 12:58 pm

      Indeed Ryo!

      Not only is it difficult to manage, it also takes a LOT of time to do so.

      Am I that friendly? HAHA. Probably, those people who hate me have private profiles. So I really can’t know what negative stuff they’re saying. HAHA

      Reply
  • 5. thecommwhore  |  July 26, 2009 at 6:47 am

    Paula, with all your photo tags about me, i think I’m the one to panic! HAHA!

    Reply
    • 6. Paula Bianca Batalla  |  July 26, 2009 at 9:52 am

      But berna, you don’t have to worry. My tags are consistent with the theme of your comm blog–commwhore! HAHA

      Consistency is very important, you know.
      You never know, your employers may even find you more interesting. Eep. HAHAHAHAHAHA

      Reply
  • 7. Patrick  |  July 26, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Nice read 🙂
    No matter how fine our reputation might be in a given time, we should forever be vigilant in managing it because sitting in our laurels is RISKY hehe “p

    Reply
    • 8. Paula Bianca Batalla  |  July 26, 2009 at 9:57 am

      Patrick, you commented!!! YAY! HAHA

      yeah. being conceited by google-ing your name/product/service from time to time isn’t bad at all. HAHA. It’s better that you become aware of what others are telling you not only offline, but also online. As we’ve established already, the Web is a wide and open avenue.

      Reply
  • 9. Nash Albacea  |  July 26, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    1. Okay. I was cited for those ‘petals.’ LOL.
    2. Netvibes is for monitoring and organizing RSS feeds! Great! But you can’t really use all of the features of that particular site when opened in Netvibes, right? 😦
    3. That Emma Watson on Twitter’s fake, right? 😦 Oh yes. Online reputation management. We should start as early as now so we can have an edge over millions of applicants!

    Reply
    • 10. Paula Bianca Batalla  |  July 26, 2009 at 2:28 pm

      1. Haha. An opinion leader must always be cited 🙂
      2. Yes. But I’m mostly following blogs. So what I like about it is that I can see the post in Netvibes without being directed to the site itself.
      3. Really? I thought it was genuine because she’s being followed by Dan, Matthew, and Tom. How’d you know it was fake?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


CALENDAR

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

TOPBLOGS RANK

Corporate & Official - Top Blogs Philippines

