WHAT’S NEW

June 27, 2009 at 6:02 pm 7 comments

Firsts are always memorable. First kiss. First love. First boyfriend. Just to be clear, those firsts are merely examples 😛

Last June 20, we had our first class for this semester. Being the forgetful person that I am, I’ll be listing all the firsts that I had observed last week. After all, this isn’t just a first meeting; this is also my last June 20 in UP Manila–hopefully!

#1: NEW CLASSROOM–I’m not really a morning person so I always choose the afternoon class. But yeah, even so, I still arrive late sometimes (or MORE than sometimes)

Since this is a class under Prof. Barrientos (I  had my OrCom142 and OrCom105  under him too), I went straight to RH 303, thinking that everyone’s there already. We always had our classes there. Well, until now. It was a stupid mistake not to check my Form5 first. It turned out that classes, from now on, will be held at GAB 1-something. What room number was it again?

#2: NEW EXPERIENCES TO SHARE

The class started with a sharing of good and bad internship experiences. Last summer, I had my 300-hour internship at the Public Affairs Group of SMART Communications, Inc.

I actually had two not-so-good (an understatement for horrible) experiences from my internship. BUT I only shared one. While being lectured as to how to analyze/assess the sponsorship letters, I was told that sometimes, no matter how pitiful the case is, if the organization will not benefit from it, the only choice is to decline the request. That made me jaded–a bit. I mean, what if it’s about children with hydrocephalus or cancer of the blood and they badly need financial support? Yeah. This is what I’ve become—a product of private Catholic schools. Ha! The Dominican sisters must have been very proud of me.

BUT OF COURSE, I understood pretty well the reason behind it.

The other unpleasant (10,000x bad) experience was that I was paired with an HR intern namely, Angelino Nico Valbuena. More like devil, I must say! Anyway, we were tasked to head a specific project of the HR department and Community Partnerships (under PA Group). We (actually, it should only be I) contacted the selected NGOs, set up meeting with the project heads, and made teasers and survey for the SMARTees–SMART employees.

#3:  NEW SUBJECT

The course title is “Communication Trends and Styles”. It didn’t really occur to me that we will be focusing on New Social Media alone. I mean, when I think of  “communication trends and styles”, there are actually various topics that comes to mind, and new social media is just a part of it. For instance, change communication, marketing communication, CSR, and passive, active, and agressive styles of communication.

Not that I’m complaining. It’s actually a relief that we’ll only be concentrated on a specific topic.

#4:  NEW INSIGHTS

After we went over the syllabus and overwhelming–in a good way–course requirements, we had an activity where we mapped out the different media by which organizations relate to the people, and the different brand ads that we encounter daily.

On the first map, organizations tap different types of media–print, new media, radio, television– to reach their market. Judging by the number of commercials I see everyday on  TV, it’s actually probable that these commercial ads are the profit centers, and not the telenovelas and noontime shows.

On the second map, I realized that my media ad encounters are mostly thru TV or Internet. I hardly remember the ads on the newspapers,  magazines, billboards, and posters on the street. Or maybe, I got SO used to these ads that I fail to notice them already. I guess redundancy does not always work to an organization’s advantage then, at least for me.

#5:  NEW CLASSMATE

Hello Carmina Arenillo! Should I call you Mina? or Carmina? 😛

I hope you enjoy your Orcom classes as much as we do!

Entry filed under: Orcomversations. Tags: , , .

TAKE A VOW CAN YOU KEEP UP?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. littlemissstraightbangs  |  June 27, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    I thought I would ran out of things to say. My memory’s not that good, considering that i should have done this days ago. But, I guess I’m just talkative by nature. And even in writing, it shows–A LOT.

    Reply
  • 2. Jasper  |  June 28, 2009 at 11:35 am

    we have the same experience paula. i also went to rh 303 assuming thta we’ll be having our class there even if it’s not the room designated to us. i got used to it and i also got used to sir not following the room assignment so i assumed that he will use his powers again for us to hold our classes there, it turned he followed the room assignment now. haha.

    Reply
    • 3. littlemissstraightbangs  |  June 28, 2009 at 3:52 pm

      at least, the aircon at gab works well. it’s as if we’re still in rh303. haha

      maybe sir barry wants a change of atmosphere? haha

      Reply
      • 4. Lou Ortiz  |  June 30, 2009 at 5:19 am

        I believe the change of classroom is due to this fact:
        use of rh303 requires a lab fee.

        🙂

        And by the way, it was really nice of you to include Carmina in your”NEW” list. 😛

      • 5. littlemissstraightbangs  |  July 1, 2009 at 2:31 pm

        Yes ate lou. Someone told me that too.

        I’m considerate like that. Haha

        Carmina was my classmate back in Anthro 185. I actually didn’t know that she already shifted to Orcom at that time. i thought she was still in PhilArts. Eep.

  • 6. barrycade  |  June 30, 2009 at 10:25 am

    i miss RH303, what with our 142 and 105 memories. but you know what happened in 105 right? we were ‘banned’ from using it. 😉

    i like the new room actually. big enough for us to move around if we want to, small enough to feel close enough. and yes, the aircon works, which is big deal for me. 🙂

    jasper is right: i usually don’t follow room assignments because i always assume that our classes deserve a nice room like 303. but now, i’m a rebel with a clue (thanks to lou!), and so i will choose other battles. 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. littlemissstraightbangs  |  July 1, 2009 at 2:34 pm

      Haha. I just don’t like the chairs/desks in our new room. So hard. Haha

      New memories to create. Yay! HAHAHA

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


CALENDAR

June 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

TOPBLOGS RANK

Corporate & Official - Top Blogs Philippines

