CAN YOU KEEP UP?

June 27, 2009 at 8:11 pm 8 comments

The class started with a discussion on the changes (or developments) we’ve had since we entered the Organizational Communication program.

I, for one, can say that caffeine–not blood–is what keeps my heart pumping. But then again, I’m a procrastinator. So if ever my mind was on 24/7 mode out of beating deadlines and doing researches, it’s more of my fault. I just never learn.

Another change I have noticed is that the online activity of people expanded GREATLY. Twitter, Facebook, Plurk–name it! Orcom people surely have at least two (or even three) social networking sites.

I had my first social network account when I was a 3rd year high school student. Yes, you guessed right–FRIENDSTER. During that time, people (or me, at least) joined out of the bandwagon. I mean, everyone has a Friendster, then I should make one too.

Today, however, is different. People don’t just join out of the bandwagon effect but because people have started opening their minds to greater possibilities. It’s not a question of “what’s in?” but “what’s in it?”.

For last meetings’ class, we discussed the communication evolution  using the Broadcast, Interactive, and Social Media (BIS) Model, and how each are perceived by the audience, the flow of information, and of course, the advantages and disadvantages.

In spite of the fact that traditional media will not perish but only change, impact is still greater with Social Media. Yes, people are indeed more receptive to Social Media. Why is that? Because it was them who generated it. It provided them the opportunity to become co-creators, and not merely as recipients of black-and-white information.

The growth of social media was like this one big explosion; photo, video, and content sharing without having the need to pay large sums to publications or other forms of traditional media attracted a whole lot of media buyers. People discovered the pleasure of blogging that even journalists and reporters have maintained blogs.

These examples and many more were offered by social media in one package. Tell me, who wouldn’t want that?

Even traditional forms of media try to cope and keep up with this major change.  Say for instance, I don’t need to buy a copy of The Philippine Star to know the headline. They maintain a website! And not just them, but most (if not all) broadsheets. They probably realized that they can reach a wider range of audience through the online community.

Indeed, the boundaries between traditional and social media are becoming hazy. As changes occur, the borders are almost a blur. And it’s all happening in a short amount of time.

The traditional media has stopped being stubborn to this change and so are other traditional organizations like the government agencies. The online community is now jampacked not only with individual users, but organizations ranging from small enterprises to large corporations. They all have kept up with the pace of change. Well, they must if they want to stay ahead of their game.

Entry filed under: Orcomversations. Tags: , , .

WHAT’S NEW TO DIE OR TO LIVE–THAT IS THE QUESTION!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanna Macris  |  June 28, 2009 at 7:23 am

    People have opened their minds already to greater possibilities. It’s not a question of “what’s in?” but “what’s in it?”.– Great. Just great 🙂

    People now really think of which is relevant to them and what they need, and not just what they want 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. littlemissstraightbangs  |  June 28, 2009 at 3:54 pm

      Ping! you quoted me! Haha

      I’ll visit your site later. I’m enjoying myself here. Haha. Soon, I’ll have a notebooks of Orcom quotes! LOL.

      Reply
  • 3. mydiamondring  |  June 28, 2009 at 10:02 am

    maybe we just love orcom so much to blame it for being…all of those you’ve said we’ve become. haha. -ryo =)

    Reply
    • 4. littlemissstraightbangs  |  June 28, 2009 at 3:57 pm

      Ryo!!! I haven’t linked you yet. But I will, of course! Haha

      Yeah. It’s not like those changes are negative. Well, they are not really good. BUT I’m enjoying what I’ve become because of Orcom.

      Don’t you just love me NOW compared to when we were freshmen? HAHA

      Reply
      • 5. mydiamondring  |  July 3, 2009 at 1:53 am

        i definitely love you more. but. oh never mind. haha. sorry for replying this late. =)

      • 6. littlemissstraightbangs  |  July 3, 2009 at 9:05 pm

        I knew it. HAHA.

        It’s ok. But you didn’t even reply on my comm blog.
        I’m sure you find it loooong… HAHA.

        Read it. *demanding*

        I shall be commenting on your blog some time this week.
        Alphabetical order eh. “R” ka pa. Even if you love me. Haha.

  • 7. arvinrazon  |  July 11, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Hahahaa. The Internet has also made me an occasional coffee addict. 😦

    Reply
    • 8. littlemissstraightbangs  |  July 12, 2009 at 10:15 am

      What’s funny Arvin??? HAHA. It’s not occasional on my case. Coffee is like my new Milo. Haha

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


CALENDAR

June 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

TOPBLOGS RANK

Corporate & Official - Top Blogs Philippines

